Freelancing

A post on Hack Library School has me thinking about librarian freelancing after I finish my MLS. (I know, I know, I haven’t even STARTED the degree yet!) Still, it seems like a good idea, going into grad school, to be open to the possibilities. What classes, skills, and technology would be useful in running a freelance librarian/information professional business after grad school? Of course, the goal is full-time employment (which I have now, in a non-MLS position that I enjoy), but it’s good to be thinking about different options.

Speaking on technology, I was in a local Apple Store last evening, and had to say sayonara to my first iTouch, but was able to buy a $99 3G replacement. While the Genius Bar guy was putting my iTouch through its paces, I enjoyed looking around at (and drooling over) all the Apple toys. I work on Windows computers at work and at home, which seems like a good idea, but most Mac users are passionate about their machines. Something to think about.

But I digress! If you aren’t following Hack Library School already, get over there!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee and part-time graduate student in library science. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Professional Development, Skills, Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Freelancing

  1. Thanks for the Hack Library School shout out! And I’m glad you’re keeping your options open as far as IS-related-careers. If you’re interested in doing a guest post for HLS, feel free to shoot me an email. We’re always looking for fresh eyes!

Leave a Reply

