A Visit to My Favorite Used Book Store (and What I Learned)

George and I visited my favorite used book store yesterday, the Reader’s Corner in Raleigh, NC. It’s not a big store, but they make great use of their space, and jam a bunch in there. In addition to the shelves inside, there are shelves covering the front of the store too, where books are divided onto $0.25 shelves and $0.10 shelves. If the store is closed when a reader stops by, you can always peruse the shelves along the storefront and, if you find something you like, drop your money in a little box attached to the front door. Honor system and all that. It’s a charming, small-town-feeling thing in our state’s capital.

While I was looking in the mystery section (always my first stop), I wondered if one of the books I was interested in was already on my Goodreads to-read list. I pulled out my iTouch and tapped on the Goodreads app, but to my dismay, it doesn’t work without an internet/wifi connection, and the Reader’s Corner doesn’t have wifi. (I’m not surprised, since this store isn’t really conducive to sitting, except maybe in the middle of the aisle floor.)

I was really fortunate to get an iPad for Christmas, and have been having a fun time learning how to use it. I haven’t turned on the data account with Verizon, though, waiting to see if I’d ever need the internet beyond places with wifi connections. Since we have wifi at home, as well as at work and at library school, I wasn’t sure if I’d need it. But yesterday at the Reader’s Corner, it really hit me how fun and useful it would be to use my Goodreads app on the iPad to help me choose books to buy. I even had the iPad in my purse, sans data plan.

So, I think I’ll be signing up for that data plan soon. I have a feeling it’ll come in handy in places that don’t have books in them too! :-)

About Lesley

I'm a full-time library employee and part-time graduate student in library science. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and running when I'm not injured.
This entry was posted in Books, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Visit to My Favorite Used Book Store (and What I Learned)

  1. Laura says:

    I love Reader’s Corner too for the .10 & .25 cent books. I love Ed McKay for their vast selection. And I love Nice Books for having just the perfect peculiar book I didn’t know I wanted.

    • Lesley says:

      Thanks for the reminders about Ed McKay and Nice Price Books! I’ve only been to Ed McKay in Raleigh a couple of times, but was impressed by the big selection! Since I live near the airport, I’m not in the Capital Ave. neighborhood much, though, so it’s a special trip. I used to love the Ed McKay in Greensboro when I lived there.

      Don’t think I’ve been to the Nice Price Books in Raleigh, but have been to the one in Durham a couple of times. It’s not on my regular radar like it probably should be.

  2. That’s a pretty interesting store with its honor system.

Leave a Reply

