Back to School

Yay! Classes start back this week! I’m taking “Intro to Digital Libraries” this semester, and my first class will be Thursday night. It’s the first class I’m taking that doesn’t require a textbook, but I’m sure we’ll be busy with other readings and assignments.

On Friday, I went to New Student Orientation and talked about the benefits of joining the American Library Association and getting involved in the local ALA Student Chapter. It was fun to visit with several new students and returning faculty afterward.

Now that I’m a little more than halfway through the MLS program, I’ve been thinking about what I can do to enhance my skills and resume over the next two years. I have some ideas, including continuing with Toastmasters for improving my public speaking skills. I’m also interesting in learning more about how to build and maintain websites, since that’s coming up more often on librarian job listings I’ve seen (AND I think it would be fun). My schedule already feels full, with work and other things, but I hope I can fit in some more professional development activities in the future.

About Lesley

I'm a full-time library employee and part-time graduate student in library science. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and running when I'm not injured.
This entry was posted in ALA, Class, Getting Ready, Library School, Skills. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to School

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    If you like speaking, I suggest submitting a proposal to your state’s library association conference. I led a session on social media while I was still in library school and it looked great on my resume!

Leave a Reply

