I’m a Joiner

I renewed my membership in ALA, the American Library Association, last evening. This is my second year of being a member, so it’s nice to be able to renew. I haven’t gotten involved in the organization, haven’t been to an ALA conference, but…it’s there. I’ve enjoyed glancing through the magazine, and I’ve gotten a little bit involved in discussions on the ALA group on LinkedIn.

I’m thinking that I may want to join the North Carolina Library Association as well. There may well be opportunities to get involved more, like with workshops within decent driving distance. When I worked at Wake Forest, the particular library I worked for paid for the NCLA memberships of all the library staff, which was a very nice perk. (I wonder if they still do that. With budget cuts suffered by many libraries, I bet not.)

With grad school in my view now (again!), I’ve been thinking some thought to how I can professional memberships and activities more productive. I can be a joiner, but I’d like to be an active member too.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

