Paying for Grad School

I’m fortunate to work for an employer that offers an tuition reimbursement program for its employees, as long as the coursework relates to the job currently being done. Part of the challenge, though, is that it’s a reimbursement program, contingent upon grades. That makes good sense, of course. It probably means, then, that since I plan to take courses continuously until I’m done, that I’ll need one semester’s tuition in the bank to start, and another semester’s worth a few months later. The reimbursement from my work probably won’t kick in before the next semester’s bill must be paid. Eventually, the reimbursement will be able to hit the bank and wait for the next school bill. Meanwhile, I’ve started socking money away to help with that.

I found this neat website called SmartyPig (kinda fits with going back to school, though it has nothing to do with that!), which facilitates saving for different goals. For grad school, I picked an initial amount goal and target date, added an initial amount, set up automatic deposits from my checking account, and voila!

For someone who’s a bit challenged in the savings arena, it seems like a pretty good way to save, for library science school as well as other things (new computer, my next car, etc.). Putting savings goals like that on automatic pilot feels like a good idea for someone like me who’s busy and looking to get busier! So, getting prepared for school is having nice side effects in other areas of my life too. 🙂

Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Getting Ready and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

