Things She Wishes She’d Learned In Library School

Last week, I posted a review of So You Want To Be a Librarian, by Lauren Pressley. It just so happens that she writes a library-related blog that I enjoy! Well, this weekend, I came across a particular blog post of hers that I bookmarked quite a while ago. (Yes, I was  thinking about library science school for quite a while!) The post, eventhough it’s a couple of years old, gives some sage advice that reflects Lauren’s library school experience. I’m glad I saved the URL from that post, found here. Things I take away from it include:

1) Get involved! That involves experiences both in and out of the classroom that relate to the library profession and library school. Since I’ll continue working full time, I’ll have to find a balance, but I should stretch myself. Experience and networking are important.

2) Start thinking about my “personal brand,” and how I want to present myself. What am I all about when it comes to my professional career and librarianship? (By the way, the WordPress spell checker suggested I use “library ship” instead of “librarianship,” which has me smiling a bit. This is a journey, in fact, and I’ll definitely want to learn and see new things to stay fresh.)

3) Knowledge is power, including knowledge of technology. Take advantage of learning opportunities in the field of technology.

If you’re interested in libraries and/or blogging, I’d definitely recommend Lauren’s library blog.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Books, Getting Ready, Professional Development, Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things She Wishes She’d Learned In Library School

  1. Did you figure out what your personal brand is?

Leave a Reply

