Technology: E-readers

Yesterday I got an email from one of “my” campus circulation desks, saying that a Kindle was waiting for me! I’ve been on the wait list (for the second time) for several weeks, so I was excited to hit the top of the list again. Last night, as I flipped through the title index, I thought about how nice it would be to own one and really learn how to use it well. As good timing sometimes happens, there’s an article in Yahoo Finance  today about e-books, e-readers, and whether they’re worth the cost. I was glad to read the article, which reminded me to be careful about technology purchases, especially with dropping prices and new products or updated models every few months, it seems.

I remember earlier this year, when I first checked a Kindle out of the library, how it seemed a bit awkward to use. I expected it to utilize touchscreen technology, but it didn’t. Also, the change from vertical to hortizontal orientation, which happened often when I changed positions while reading on the couch or bed, irritated me. This time, though, I’m a lot more comfortable with the Kindle unit, and am already 6% (no page numbers) into the Kindle version of Connected: The Surprising Power of Our Social Networks and How They Shape Our Lives. The more I’ve thought about it this afternoon, the more I appreciate the fact that my workplace library has several Kindles available for patron use (be prepared to get in line, though!), and the resources to add titles to the Kindles. I’ve gotten to witness the power of new technology in an academic library, and how word is spreading around campus of their availability. Although I wasn’t on the taskforce that brought the Kindles to the library system, I’ve enjoyed talking with library staff about the process, as well as the pros and cons of making these units, with dozens (and potentially hundreds) of titles, available to users. It’s also interesting to see “patron-driven acquisitions” being tested on the Kindles.

In searching a little more about e-readers, I came across this WSJ article, “The ABCs of E-Reading,” here. I enjoyed reading about the changing reading habits of readers; I hope you’ll enjoy it too.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Books, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Technology: E-readers

  1. Pingback: Pixel or Print? | Lesley's Journey to Grad School

  2. Pingback: E-Readers, Part II: The Nook | Lesley's Journey to Grad School

Leave a Reply

