Reading: Books for Librarians?

Lately I’ve been wondering what books I should read before I start library school, when my pleasure reading will probably grind to a halt! Are there any particular books that, once classes start, I’ll wish I’d read beforehand? Googling the idea has brought up a number of recommended reading lists, including books you should read before graduating from high school, books everyone should read, and 1001 books to read before you die. But nothing specifically geared toward librarians! I think it’s something I’ll work on.

Meanwhile, I did come across a list of business books that looked interesting. I follow Michael Hyatt’s blog periodically, and I found this list of favorite business books on his blog. I think it applies somewhat to librarianship, as libraries are very much like businesses in some respects, with their customer-driven focus while meeting the bottom line. On Hyatt’s list, I’ve read one book and have another at home.

What books would YOU read before starting grad school?

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Books, Getting Ready, Professional Development and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reading: Books for Librarians?

  1. Lauren says:

    Hey Leslie, there’s a bit of overlap here, but I think the reading list at Personal MBA is pretty good. 🙂

  2. Lesley says:

    I like the link, Lauren! Thanks for sharing it. As I’m pondering a list of my own, I’ve been thinking that it should include not only business/library books (including yours, ) but books on leadership and personal development. I think that technology is also a good category for a recommended reading list, especially for people heading to library school. I’ve been eyeing your _Wikis for Libraries_, especially since I have a DukeWiki space I’ve been using for creating and collaborating on documentation for my unit. I haven’t seen a copy yet, but plan to.

  3. You should make that list because I would love to start reading two or three a month. I only know of three (that are available at the library).

  4. Your blog is like a book for me, I’m trying to read as many of your entries as I can.

Leave a Reply

