Progress: Several Fronts

Following a flurry of activity earlier this week that actually included picking a date and paying for (did I mention it was $160?!) the GRE, I made application packet progress on several fronts yesterday!

1) I mailed the transcript request and money order for my Guilford Tech transcripts. Even though it’s a community college I didn’t get a degree from, I did take several computer classes there, so I’m going to throw that transcript into the mix. I made As on those classes, so I figure it can’t hurt!

2) I actually picked up my Duke transcripts. In a stroke of luck (or something), I now work in the same building as the University Registrar, even though I work for the library. Go figure there, but it worked for me. AND Duke transcripts are FREE!

3) I started studying a bit harder this evening for the GRE, and realized I need to study a lot harder, especially for the math section! Seriously. Right now I’m using the study guides and questions on the website number2.com.

4) I took a break from the math study to start writing my application essay, which was fun! According to the application, it’s supposed to be a short essay about why I want to go to library science school. It was easy to whip out an initial paragraph, even if I don’t keep it. I’ve started it on Google Docs, for easy access at home or during lunch breaks at work. Meanwhile, I have a book on hold at the public library about writing grad school essays. I’ll pick it up later today.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Getting Ready, GRE, Time Management. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Progress: Several Fronts

  1. Wow Lesley, the GRE is expensive. The GRE is the one thing that scares me about going back to school.

    I love reading your blog. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

