GRE Practice: I’m Not There Yet!

I took a practice GRE  test on the Princeton Review site earlier this evening, and it told me I have a lot of work to do! Tonight’s test had two essay questions, plus one verbal and one quantitative section.  I take the Real McCoy five weeks from tomorrow morning, so I feel like I have my work cut out for me! Five more weeks seems like a decent amount of time to practice, though. It’s a  short enough time that I feel like I can stay focused, but it’s long enough that I feel like I can accomplish something.

The essays were easier to write than I expected this evening, but I panicked a bit over the math. The verbal section didn’t go as smoothly as I thought it would either, but it went better than the math.

  • Quantitative: 410 (59%)
  • Verbal 530 (70%)

I’ve heard through the grapevine that the school I’m applying to wants a total score of 1000, give or take. I’ve also heard that they don’t look at the quantitative section. I wonder if I can get the real dirt on GRE scores if I call the admissions folks there.

At any rate, I want to do well on it, for the money ($160), study time, and test time (4 hours).

What am I doing on WordPress?! I’d better get back to studying!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Getting Ready, GRE and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

