Social Networking

This afternoon, I had the fun of hearing Deanna Zandt talk about her new book, Share This!: How You Will Change the World with Social Networking. Although I missed the first 20 minutes or so, I’m glad I decided to go in anyway. She had some insightful things to say about the power of social networking, and how it has the force to spread news, change views, and influence change. I also enjoyed hearing about her process of creating the book, from writing the book proposal through its publication. It’s a book I definitely plan to read.

Since the growth of social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter, I’ve thought more than once about how keeping up with classmates and friends from high school and college would’ve been so much easier if we’d had email and the likes of Facebook and Twitter. Now that I’m going back to school next fall, I’ve been thinking about how I can make the best of social networking tools as I progress through the library science program, especially given how my time to spend on them will be shortened, with juggling both school and work. One of the plusses of getting a graduate degree is the opportunity for networking with others involved in the same field, and having the face-to-face contact in classes and in project work is important too.

 During the Question and Answer session, someone made a comment about an organization called HASTAC. It’s the first time I remember hearing about it, but I’m intrigued at the thought of this organization that brings people from different fields together to collaborate with the help of technology. It just so happens that they have a HASTAC Scholars program that sounds really interesting, to boot!

Image from http://search.barnesandnoble.com/books/product.aspx?box=978-1605094168%20&pos=-1&EAN=9781605094168

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Books, Social Networking, Technology, Time Management, Web 2.0 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

