Connected

I just finished reading the book, Connected: The Surprising Power of Our Social Networks and How They Shape Our Lives, by Nichokas A. Christakis and James H. Fowler.This is the first book I’ve ever read on two different e-readers, the Kindle AND the Nook! I read the first part of the book on the Kindle, but had to return the unit before I was able to finish, so I got one of the library’s new Nooks to finish the book off. It’s been a lot of fun trying out two new-to-me e-readers! I must admit, though, that it took me two full weeks with each unit to finish this one title! In full disclosure, I don’t think it was the book’s fault, though. Why? First of all, I’ve been studying for the GRE and training for a half marathon! Too, I must admit, I still love crawling into bed with a book. There’s something very comfortable about doing that at the end of my day. I look at screens and types things a lot during the day, so part of it is a change of pace for my eyes as well as my hands. Clicking a button to turn pages got a little tiring. So, there were days when I didn’t read on the e-reader at all, opting for a hardcopy off the stack by my bed. Will I check another e-reader out? Sure! But so far, I still prefer my paperbacks and hardbacks!

Oh, the book! I did enjoy the book, even though it took me a month to read. I’m increasingly fascinated by social networks, both online and in person, and read this one with libraries and library science school always in the back of my mind. I’ve been trying to decide whether to take most of my grad school classes in person or online; both have implications for networking with professors, classmates and future colleagues. I had initially planned to get my degree online, since I’ll continue working. But the more I talk with people about it, the more I like the idea of taking the classes on campus.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Books, Decisions, Libraries, Social Networking, Technology, Web 2.0 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Connected

  1. I read some of that book for a philosophy class. I might have to read the rest sometime.

Leave a Reply

