I Own My Own Name

Well, I did it! I bought my domain name last night! I’ve been thinking about it for a while, and I finally did it!

I’ve been reading up about the process of buying a domain name and web hosting, and I also polled my Facebook friends via my FB status. The books and articles I read said to keep your domain name purchase and web hosting separate; that way, if one goes down, the other is still up. The Facebook friends who responded mostly said to go with GoDaddy for everything. Even though I like getting and taking advice from others, I decided to go with splitting up the two processes. I bought lesleylooper.com from Hover.com for about $10 for the year with an online coupon. I haven’t decided on a web host yet, and will probably wait until after the GRE is over.

I’m not very savvy about web design, so I have a lot to learn. That’s part of why I bought my domain name, really. I’ve been saying for ages (mostly to myself!) that I’d really like to learn HTML and other things about web design. With library science school on the horizon, Now seems like a great time to get started! I’ve even signed up for a short HTML intro class offered on campus through Duke’s Office of Information Technology.

Meanwhile, I’ve started thinking about what I’ll put on lesleylooper.com, a fun process! More in the weeks and months ahead.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Professional Development, Web 2.0 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

