What’s On Your Bookshelf?

For the past couple of years, I’ve enjoyed tracking the books I read on a social networking site for readers called Goodreads. I’ve tried Shelfari, LibraryThing, and one or two other similar websites, but Goodreads is my favorite, and the one I update on a regular basis.

One of the things I like about Goodreads is the ability to add “friends,” and track what they’re reading as well. Some of the readers on my Goodreads friends list are friends and colleagues in real life, but others on the list are people I’ve connected with over books or on other social networking sites like Facebook. Goodreads allows you to compare reading lists with others and see how similar your tastes are. When I visit someone’s home, I LOVE looking at bookshelves, and naturally gravitate toward them. The titles on a bookshelf tell me things about somebody that I might have missed (or might not have learned yet) about them.

When I taught elementary school, I rekindled my love for children’s lit, and since I signed on with Goodreads, I’ve enjoyed reading more children’s lit, in addition to my “normal” fare–mysteries, Southern lit, nonfiction, a variety of things, really. I’ve especially enjoyed reading picture books, of all things, and am always on the lookout for really good ones. There’s just something comforting about picture books, and many of them are beautiful artwork. An interesting article about the decline *gasp!* of picture books came out in the New York Times last week. Check it out here.

Meanwhile, you can check out my virtual bookshelves on Goodreads here.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Books, Social Networking, Web 2.0 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

