What Goes Around, Comes Around

Yesterday afternoon, once I’d finished the GRE, I decided to return some books to the North Regional Library, since it wasn’t far from the testing center I used for the GRE. Since I’d been inside the testing center for several hours, I decided to walk the books to the bookdrop inside and look around for a few minutes before heading home for a much needed nap.

What a pleasant surprise it was to run into one of our cataloging interns from NCCU there-behind the desk! She was one of our first two interns, and the first one to graduate (back in May), and this is her first post-graduation job. It was really neat to see her in action, and it was encouraging to me, fresh from the GRE, to run into her in a library! Working with the interns from NCCU’s MLS program is part of what’s inspired me to actually, finally, go ahead and do this!

Unfortunately, her job is a product of still-existent budget woes brought about by the recent financial crisis, so she’s working 39 hours a week for the public library system. (Yep.) She’s very smart, though, and was a great cataloging intern, so I’m sure she’ll have a job with benefits before long.

It was fun to commiserate with her about the GRE, and what a treat it was for me to see her, post-graduation! She made it through the program, and I will too!

Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Books, GRE, Libraries, Professional Development and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

