What Do I Want to be When I Grow Up?

Being part of the NCCU SLIS Cataloging class earlier this week is still on my mind. One of my favorite parts of the class was when I had the group go around the table and tell us a little bit about how they arrived at library school and what their professional goals where, if anything yet. Even though the class was small, I was impressed by their diverse backgrounds and interests going into librarianship.

I haven’t decided what kind of librarian I want to be when I grow up, so I enjoy hearing other librarians’ stories. I enjoy my current work a lot, but I have a feeling the library school will expand my “world view” of libraries and the profession of librarianship. That’s part of what I’m really looking forward to! Meanwhile, NCCU’s library science school has several tracks that I’m interested in: Academic Libraries, Public Libraries, and Digital Libraries. I wonder if I can fit them all in.

If you’re a librarian or a library science school student, I’d love to hear YOUR story!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Professional Development and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Do I Want to be When I Grow Up?

  1. Hello Lesley,

    I am a current MLS grad student pursuing my degree online from the University of North Texas. I feel like we are in similar spaces on trying to decide what area of librarianship to focus on. I had no library experience prior to entering library school. While pursuing a career in the mental health field, I found myself working as an advocate to clients by providing them with updated literature on promoting healthy lifestyles through nutrition, stress management, and low impact exercising. I enjoyed finding literature online and seeing the appreciation from my clients when they read the materials. Deep down, I have always had an appreciation for lifelong learning so my decision to go to library school was the most logical one. Along the way of pursuing my degree, I have had the honor of working two internships to gain experience in an academic library setting. I am currently employed at an academic library as a library assistant and I am seeking out opportunities to develop my skills in the area of technical services such as cataloging and using Web 2.0 tools to enhance productivity for library staff.

    Some advice given to me by several librarians was to explore different areas of interest and try taking classes that expose you to them. I have also looked at professional organizations that give library students opportunities to learn more about the field. If you are not apart of the American Library Association (ALA), I would encourage you to get involved. I think that it’s great that you will be presenting next year at a local conference. It seems like you are on the right track to uncovering your niche. Every path has its twists and turns. Continue with determination, curiosity, and enthusiasm toward your goals. Ge Ge

    • Lesley says:

      Hi Ge Ge, thanks so much for commenting. You bring up some interesting points! I joined ALA last year, and rejoined over the summer. I haven’t gotten involved yet–it’s on my to-do list. It sounds like librarianship is a great fit for your passion for lifelong learning. I hope you’ll post at some point about some of the Web 2.0 work enhancements you’ve discovered.

Leave a Reply

