Is There a Novel In You?

Well, it’s almost here again, NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month 2010! The goal is to write a 50,000-word rough draft work of fiction between November 1 and November 30. I participated for the first time last year, and finished with a few days to spare. It was a fun, creative experience, so I’m planning to do it again this year. If I get into graduate school, it may be the last time I have time to do it for a few years, so I plan to take advantage!

Last year, I wrote a book about a running group of women from diverse backgrounds. After last November’s finish, I thought I’d write a sequel about the group, and have them train for a marathon together in this year’s book. (It just so happens that I finished my first (and probably last) marathon last October, so that experience was still fresh in my mind.)

Ah, what a difference a year makes! Since then, my running has been sidelined due to issues with my foot, so I don’t want to spend the month of November writing about that. Now, I’m working on another book idea. I don’t have much of anything yet. That strategy worked out just fine last year, and made the creative process fun and relaxing, actually. The words just flowed, and I enjoyed seeing the directions my characters took. 🙂

So, I’m going to start writing my second novel on November 1! Won’t you join me?!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Books, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

