On-the-job Computer Skills

I’ve been thinking a lot this week about computer skills needed for my job, now and possibly in the future. One thing I’ve learned is that I have a lot to learn!

Earlier this week, I was training a student assistant to do some copy cataloging, and suggested that she “control-c” an ISBN. She paused, looked around the screen and keyboard, and seemed confused. I sat back, then asked her if she used Windows or Mac for her studies. It turns out that she’s a Mac user, so she wasn’t accustomed to the Windows keyboard shortcuts for copy and paste. Basic stuff for me, but I had would be hard pressed to copy and paste with keyboard shortcuts on a Mac.

I was reminded of this yesterday afternoon, during a class on Intro to HTML taught by our Informational Technology office on campus. The class was taught one of the Mac labs on campus, a location where the machines have both Mac and Windows operating systems.  Out of habit, I logged on using Windows and checked my work email before class started.  Believe it or not, I was the only one in the class who logged on using Windows, so the class became slightly Mac-centered, with the instructor and everyone else (a small class) using the Mac version of Notepad or Wordpad, as well as something other than Internet Explorer. That through me for a loop, and I felt a few steps behind everyone else for the whole class! I need take some nuggets away from the class, though, and had a nice conversation afterward with an old acquaintance who was seated near the front, blocked from my view during class by the big monitors.

I’m still a long way from the skills needed to do my own HTML coding for a website of my own, so my domain name remains parked without a web host. I asked the student instructor last evening about web hosts, and he said he uses GoDaddy.com, but that you need to do your own coding. I looked GoDaddy up online again afterward, and noticed that they do offer web page templates for their customers. Still, I hesitate to use GoDaddy, due to some complaints I’ve heard about slowness, downtime, and the quirkiness of their cPanel. More research soon, but later.

P.S. You’ll notice Jillian Michaels on GoDaddy’s front page, which I think is a strange choice! Michaels is a buff and tough personal trainer, but I don’t see her taking the time to do her own website on GoDaddy! Odder yet, the GoDaddy website refers to Michaels as their new “GoDaddy Girl.” Does that sound condescending to anyone else?!

Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Getting Ready, Technology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

