I’m a Webmaster Wannabe

Well, I finally did it, I selected a web host for my growing list of domain names! It took me some time and research to decide, and I decided on Hostgator because of the price, good online reviews, and the ability to host unlimited domains on a reasonably priced plan.

Now that I’ve made the commitment, learning how to use Hostgator and turn my domain names into something for public view feels rather daunting! I’ve already had a couple of live online chats with Hostgator support staff, not because of anything they did or didn’t do, but because I’m starting almost at the bottom of the barrel. I thought that my blogging, Flickr, Facebook, Twitter self would have a leg up here, but wow, there are so many ways to design and improve a website!

I’m really looking forward to this project as a learning experience, though! I hope that by the time I get to library science grad school, I’ll be a lot more comfortable with building websites. Be on the lookout for lesleylooper.com to go live in the weeks ahead!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Professional Development, Skills, Technology, Web 2.0 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m a Webmaster Wannabe

  1. By the way, I can’t remember if I told you this or not, but I took a class that was mixed with Undergrads and Grads and I was surprised that absolutely NO undergrads used Twitter or blogged…Facebook and email was about all they knew how to do. And only 1 other Grad student used Twitter.

  2. Lesley says:

    Wow, that’s surprising! I wonder if those stats changed by the end of the class! Any idea?

Leave a Reply

