A Score for Social Networking

A couple of days ago, I got a LinkedIn message from a librarian at work, who was forwarding a hopeful introduction by a graduate student he knows with a college classmate of mine who is a LinkedIn connection too. Within 24 hours, I was able to forward my former classmate’s contact info (with her permission, of course!) back to the librarian, who planned to forward it back to the graduate student he knows.

It was a bit of a thrill, I must admit, to be able to help create that connection. I don’t know that I’ll ever learn how the connection between the grad student and the classmate works out, but I hope something neat comes out of it!

It’s a good reminder of the real potential and power of social networking, and how it’s a lot more than just collecting neighbors on FarmVille!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Professional Development, Social Networking, Web 2.0, Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

