Where Librarians Work: A Renovated Tobacco Warehouse

I’ve decided to start a series of blog posts about where librarians and library staff do their work. I’ll start with where I work.

As you can see from the photograph, I work in a tobacco warehouse formerly occupied by Liggett & Myers Tobacco Company. Built in 1906, it’s now owned by the university, and is home to several departments now.

I enjoy working in this building a lot. It still has exposed brick walls and big wooden columns inside, but has been nicely renovated for our work. Sometimes I miss being part of the main campus traffic and inside the library proper, but most of the time, I think this is a really neat place to work! In addition to the nice building, the parking is great, and we have easier access to neat restaurants for lunch. 🙂

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

