Big Envelope This Time!

Well, it finally happened–I got a big envelope in the mail from NCCU! And wouldn’t you know, I stayed late at work last evening, so George got to the mailbox first! He called me to let me know there was a big envelope for me, and asked me what I wanted to do. “OPEN IT!” I said, so he opened the envelope and read me the acceptance letter over the phone! πŸ™‚ Yahoo! When I got home last night, I pulled everything out of the envelope, and had fun going through it all. It’s beginning to sink in!

My mind has started whirring, thinking about all the things I want to get done before I start library school part-time (after work) next August! More on that in future posts.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Getting Ready and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Big Envelope This Time!

  1. Susan M says:

    Congratulations, Lesley! I am so happy for you.

  2. Howard says:

    Congratulations Lesley! Have you come down yet or still floating on Cloud 9!!?

    • Lesley says:

      Thanks, Howard! I’m hoping that I can float through my half marathon tomorrow; then I’ll think about coming down! Of course, if Duke continues to play well in the NCAA basketball tourney, that would be great! πŸ™‚

  3. LibGirl09 says:

    Congratulations!!!

  4. Congratulations Lesley on getting into library school at NCCU.

    Also love the pictures of your Dad’s 80th b-day. He looks awesome!

    Michelle

  5. Carla says:

    I will be your classmate! I received my financial aid e-mail this evening so perhaps my thick envelope comes tomorrow. πŸ™‚ I will be full time via online courses though, but since I am in Charlotte, I hope to visit campus periodically throughout the semester.

  6. carlasarratt says:

    Thank you! I am going to do the special libraries track because I am interested in working with the government, e.g. Library of Congress, but I want to learn more about digital as well as academic since I am also a former teacher. Yes, I read all of your blog posts yesterday, LOL.

    Sometime this summer, I want to visit the campus since I’ve never been either. I also want to check out Duke and Wake Forest thanks to your photos. Now that I got the acceptance I really want, my enthusiasm is even higher.

  7. Carla says:

    Thank you! I am going to do the special libraries track because I am interested in working with the government, e.g. Library of Congress, but I want to learn more about digital as well as academic since I am also a former teacher. Yes, I read all of your blog posts yesterday, LOL.

    Sometime this summer, I want to visit the campus since I’ve never been either. I also want to check out Duke and Wake Forest thanks to your photos. Now that I got the acceptance I really want, my enthusiasm is even higher.

    We’ll definitely have to compare stories about online as opposed to face to face classes.

    • Lesley says:

      Small world, I’m a former teacher too! πŸ™‚

      Working for someplace like LC would be awesome! When do you plan to graduate? Going full-time sounds great!! On this end,I feel like it’s going to take me forever going part-time, but I plan to savor every semester. I know it’ll be worth it in the end!

  8. Carla says:

    I taught 9th and 11th graders; I saw you taught 1st and 2nd graders.

    If all goes well, I would like to finish summer session 2012 and graduate in December. I’m not working right now so the time to go to grad school is a gift right now and I don’t want to waste it.

    Would it be okay if I friend you on LinkedIn?

    • Lesley says:

      Next year?! That sounds great! Sounds like you’re going to be very focused and knock it out! πŸ™‚

      Yes, let’s definitely connect on LinkedIn!

  9. Carla says:

    That is my hope. With no spouse or kids, hopefully I can make it happen. Even if I extend it to Fall 2012, I can still graduate December 2012. A friend did the exact same program at NCCU several years ago and finished it in a year.

  10. Lesley says:

    Well, it sounds like you’re in a great position to do this NOW! I’m glad things came together for you to do the MLS at Central. We’re lucky to have several MLS programs in North Carolina, including an accredited online program, to choose from! I may take an online class or two down the road, depending on the schedule. Did your friend enjoy the program?

  11. Carla says:

    I agree. I began my grad school journey December 2010 — exactly 3 months after I left my job with the Census Bureau. Reading your posts were very familiar. I would love to go to class in a face to face setting, but I had to be realistic with finances and things. I considered UNCG which also has a satellite campus in Charlotte, but it was a part time, evening only program so I had to cast them aside. But maybe I can do an internship with their library.

    Yes, she did enjoy the program. She was a public librarian for several years before going to law school and is now a law librarian here in Charlotte.

    • Lesley says:

      Good to hear she liked the program. It’s amazing (and exciting!), all the job possibilities in librarianship! Hope we can meet when you come to Durham sometime!

  12. Carla says:

    I will definitely let you know whenever I head that way.

  13. Ah, so it took you about two months to hear from them. I’ll keep reading to find out what happens next.

    • Lesley says:

      Since I only applied to one library school, I accepted the acceptance immediately! πŸ™‚

      • Did you choose one school because it was the only one you liked?

      • Lesley says:

        Not really. There are a lot of decent library schools out there, and numerous people have told me that library school (like many things in life) is what you make of it. I loved looking at the websites of different library schools! But I knew I didn’t want to quit my job and move for library school, especially because I didn’t need to! I also decided I wanted to take classes on campus, rather than pursuing an MLS online. There are THREE library schools within in hour of where I work! I seriously considered all three, but I decided to just apply to one, NCCU, and take it from there. My main reasons were:

        1) It’s ALA-accredited (a must!).
        2) Of the three library schools within commuting distance of me, it was the closest (on my way home from work!) and the least expensive. My current car has nearly 150,000 miles on it already, and I really don’t want to go into debt (student loans, car payment, credit card debt, whatever) for this degree.
        3) I knew several employed alums, current MLS students, and a professor from NCCU before I applied, so I got their opinions. All the alums and current students I talked to had positive things to say about the program.

        I’m pretty sure I would’ve been happy at any of the three library schools in North Carolina, but with almost one full semester under my belt, I’m at peace with my decision. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

