Password Progress

I made some progress this morning on getting logged into various things relating to library school. It took three (or was it four?) calls to the NCCU Help Desk, and a ticket submitted on my behalf by the last person I talked to, but it’s progress, anyway. The people on the Help Desk were very helpful and patient with my requests and questions, and the last guy stayed on the phone and walked me through some steps. I appreciated that, as I was on the verge of feeling rattled by all the steps to getting set up, which surprised me. I usually think I’m fairly tech savvy. This process has taken me down a notch, but that’s okay. Maybe I needed that. 🙂

So, I have my new email address through NCCU, which uses Gmail as their email client. I’d heard of other schools going the way of Gmail, but this is my first crack at it. I have a personal Gmail account, which I like a lot, so I’m going to play with the calendar sharing later.

It’s interesting to think that this will be my third academic degree, but the first one with a dedicated email address to go along with the coursework. Once the ticket that the Help Desk put in for me gets resolved, I’ll be registering online too! No more standing in line for registration or drop/add. (Yay!) Online registration for Fall ’11 started last week, so once I get that last password set up, I’ll really be on my way! Signing up for my first classes will be a big step, for sure!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Getting Ready, Skills, Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

