Getting Involved: ALA

I just spent some time on the American Library Association website, thinking about the opportunities to get involved, especially once I start grad school. I found myself feeling a little overwhelmed by all the possibilities, and I wondered why, considering how excited I am to be starting library school! I suspect that it’s the time of year, with staff evaluation time at work, in addition to our fiscal year end getting closer by the day!

I plan to revisit the ALA site in a few months and give more thought to involvement. Also, “my” library school has a student chapter of ALA too, and I’ve heard that’s a great way to get involved too. So stay tuned!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in ALA, Professional Development, Social Networking, Technology, Web 2.0 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Getting Involved: ALA

  1. Ginger Smith says:

    Hi Lesley,

    I found sites like the ALA, SLA, NCLA, NCSLA, LAUNCCH, SCALA (UNC Chapter of ALA) etc to be quite overwhelming as well. I had to make a list of all of them, especially when I added the Archives groups to the list.

    Speaking of ALA, I found these two free webinars they are hosting during Preservation week:

    Tuesday, April 26, 2 p.m. – 2 p.m, EST – Accidents Happen: Protecting & Saving Family Treasures
    Thursday, April 28, 2 p.m. – 3 p.m., EST – Preserving Your Personal Digital Memories

    You can sign up with the following links:
    Accidents Happen: Protecting & Saving Family Treasures – https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/168682080

    Preserving Your Personal Digital Memories- https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/550844641

  2. LibGirl09 says:

    I’m right there with you Lesley. I joined ALA and MLA a couple of months ago. I’m receiving all these emails, updates, and newsletters, and I just don’t have the time/energy to process it all. My excuse is that I’m preoccupied with coursework for school. Once the spring semester ends, then I’m going to look into my involvement as well.

    • Lesley says:

      I suspect that going to grad school, in addition to working, really does a number on your free time! I know it’ll be worth it, though! 🙂

      Does your school have a student chapter of ALA?

      • LibGirl09 says:

        No, we don’t. But we do have a student chapter of SLA and ASIS&T. Unfortunately, the meetings have always been held during times I am working, so I haven’t gotten involved with either yet.

Leave a Reply

