Are You On Twitter?

Last evening, I attended a meetup of people in the Research Triangle who are on Twitter, shortened to Triangle Tweetup, and I had fun! I’ve been using Twitter for a while, but had never been to a local gathering of Twitterers before. Last night’s Tweetup was held at Bronto Software headquarters at the American Tobacco Campus in Durham, near  my work, which made it a no-brainer.

I saw a couple of people I know in person (from work and running), and met some new people too. One guy I met said, “Hey, my wife’s a librarian at UNC!” It was fun to make that connection.

The whole evening reminded me of the importance of networking, and how easy it can be, especially when practiced and fostered on a pretty regular basis.

It also reminded me of one of my favorite Twitter exchanges. A few years ago, I broke my nose, and for several days after my nose bone was reset, I had to wear a big white protective bandage that extended just beyond the tip of my nose. My first day back at work, I realized that the bandage was so big, that it was hard to drink the can of Diet Coke I had. I made a comment on Twitter that I wished I had a straw to help make it easier to drink. A few minutes later, I got a Twitter from a coworker in a different department of the library, who said she had a box of straws at her desk, and that I was welcome to come and get one! 🙂 Needless to say, that made my day!

Since beginning on Twitter, I’ve linked up with coworkers as well as others with similar interests (like reading, running, genealogy, and librarianship) across the country, and that’s been fun and rewarding. It’s also been a good exercise in editing to wrap up my thoughts in 140 characters or less. (Some Tweets are easier than others to keep short!)

Check out my Twitter profile, and feel free to send me a Tweet!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Social Networking, Web 2.0 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

