And It’s Not Even Halloween Yet!

Yesterday morning, I finished reading the “cozy mystery” book, A Rare Murder in Princeton, by Ann Waldron, about a murder that happens in the rare books section of Princeton University’s library. I enjoyed the setting a lot, but the conversations seemed a little stilted at times. Still, a pretty quick summer read that made me want to visit Princeton and its library.

Throughout the day yesterday, I thought about what to read next, and had a hard time deciding. I picked up several books with no luck. Last night, finally, I struck pay dirt, with Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers, by Mary Roach. I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while, and am glad I’m getting it in before grad school starts in a couple of months! I hear that Roach handles this topic with finesse and respectfulness. I’ll report back later.

I know I’ve got this “dead bodies” theme going on now, and Halloween is still a few months away! I’m a sucker for “cozy mysteries,” which often end in the solving of a murder. I’m looking to expand my reading repertoire a little bit this summer.

Images from Barnes and Noble.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And It’s Not Even Halloween Yet!

  1. Melody says:

    Mary Roach is fantastic! Haven’t read Stiff, but read Bonk a few years ago. She’s witty and tenacious. Her TED talk was delightful.

Leave a Reply

