Favorite Authors: Kathryn Tucker Windham

I learned this evening that Kathryn Tucker Windham died in Selma, Alabama, earlier today, at the age of 93. I remember first hearing her tell ghost stories some 40 years ago and throughout my childhood, in classrooms, the public library, various festivals. Even back then, I thought she was hip! (I also remember thinking she was old, but there’s a little kid’s concept of age for ya!) I loved her ghost stories; in fact, I think she must have been one of my earliest influences in my love of Halloween and mystery stories/books. She wasn’t only a masterful storyteller, but a good writer too. She’s written numerous ghost story collections.

An article from The Montgomery Advertiser about Windham’s death reveals a journalism career that I’d totally forgotten about! I’m in more awe of her now than when I was a kid! Wow! In 2003, the Kathryn Tucker Windham Museum was opened in Thomasville, Alabama. Next time I get to Alabama, I hope I can visit. Rest in peace, Kathryn Tucker Windham.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Authors, Books, Storytelling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

