Personal Branding and Librarianship

The latest “23 Things for Professional Development” challenge (CPD23 Thing 3) is to consider personal branding, and how it fits in professionally. With social media and the importance of networking, both online and in person, I think this is an interesting and important topic. I enjoy several social networking websites, though it’s easy to get sucked into a time warp while on them. I need to work on balance and time management when it comes to sites like Facebook.

One of the biggest segments of personal branding is your online presence, because it has a more widespread reach. In addition to accounts on several social networking sites, I bought my own domain name a few months ago, and look forward to doing more with that.

I’ve also been thinking about how my personal image fits into my personal/professional brand. Even though the attire at my workplace is casual and comfortable, I’d still like to update my wardrobe (especially my shoes!). That’s something I can work on, once piece at a time.

I’ve already read several books on personal branding, and I’ll be on the lookout for more on this topic, especially as I go through library school. Any recommendations?

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Professional Development, Social Networking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Personal Branding and Librarianship

  1. Thanks for sharing this, Lesley! Have you thought about using your domain name for your blog?

    • Lesley says:

      Good question! I have several blogs going right now (in addition to this one), and I’d be hard pressed to pick which blog should go under my domain name. Putting this blog under lesleylooper.com would make the most sense in the long run, though. Maybe I’ll start a fresh professional blog when I finish library school, and put that one under my domain name. Hmmm. Thanks for the comment, Elizabeth!

Leave a Reply

