Following My Own Advice

I decided to follow my own advice to someone earlier this morning, so I’ve renewed my membership in the American Library Association, also known as ALA. Since I’m starting library school later this month, I was glad to be able to pay the student rate! With the reduced annual fee, I followed the advice of a colleague and signed up for the New Members Round Table (also known as NMRT) for the first time. The NMRT is for ALA members of less than 10 years. I’ve been an ALA member for two continuous years (this is the start of my 3rd year). I hope I’ll be able to take advantage of some NMRT committee opportunities early next year. Meanwhile, I wonder when NCCU‘s ALA student chapter meets–I’ll look into that too! [Of course, I’ll remember that I have a full-time job first!]

Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in ALA, Professional Development and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

