Putting the “Social” in Social Media (cpd23 Thing 12)

I’m glad to see the topic of social networking resurface in Thing 12. What implications does it have for professional development? It’s huge!

Since applying to library school and participating in cpd23, I’ve enjoyed connecting with more librarians near and far, primary on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Google+, and in the blogosphere. While social media/networking won’t replace face-to-face contact, sometimes collaboration spans oceans and continents, and social media helps make that happen.

Within my work sphere, I often depend on email for connecting with colleagues in other parts of the library, since my department works from a building on the other side of campus. Most days, it’s fine, but sometimes I do miss the ability to do spontaneous lunches or coffee breaks with colleagues to discuss things. When I attend meetings over in the main library, I enjoy the time before or after meetings to catch up with staff from other departments in person.

Of all the social networking sites, I’ve been on Facebook the longest, but I’ve used LinkedIn with increased frequency since I’ve been accepted to library school. I’ve especially enjoyed the discussion boards in the American Library Association group, getting involved in several discussions along the way.

I’ve been wondering how socia media will play a part in my library school education. I can’t wait to find out!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Social Networking, Web 2.0 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

