Buying Textbooks

I purchased my first grad school textbook yesterday, and had a couple of interesting surprises. First of all, I found the book on Amazon for 31 cents plus $3.99 shipping. It’s a used copy described as “very good,” and I did pay for expedited shipping to increase the possibility of getting it before class, but I still paid less than $10 for it. (A new copy costs $74.02 on Amazon!)

Then, the title of the textbook caught me by surprise! The book is for the class “Selection and Use of Information Sources,” which I assumed was another name for collection development. Well, the name of the book is Introduction to Reference Work, Vol. 1: Basic Information Services. I would’ve figured it out sooner or later, but I’m glad to be starting the class knowing what it’s supposed to be about!!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Books, Class and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

