Online Collaboration and File-Sharing

Thing 13 on the 23 Things for Professional Development blog focuses on different ways to facilitate online collaboration and file-sharing, especially in the context of libraries.

At my library, Google Docs is the most prevalent way to share files online. I have a Google Docs account through my personal Gmail account, and I’ve attached  my work email address to it as well. I use Google Docs a good bit for my personal work, partly because it’s a good place for backup documents. At work, though, we have a shared drive on the library server, so many colleagues I know use that option rather than having to go online to access and edit something. Also, many of us know how to access the work network remotely from our home computers. I find that doing remote access to work from home is a little cumbersome on my current computer, though, so when I have work I need to take home with home, I often upload any documents to Google Docs.

I love the idea of wikis, but don’t have much experience with them yet. The university I work for offers wiki space for groups, so I have wiki space for my work unit. We’ve used it a little, but we use the shared space on the library server much more often.

Speaking of wikis, I’ve been curious about PBworks, which used to be called PBwiki. I’ve considered signing up for a PBworks account to see how it works, but haven’t yet. There are quite a few wiki software packages, so which one is best?! Wikipedia has a good (I think!) comparison chart.

I’ve never used Dropbox, but have heard good things about it from another colleague. She likes it better than Google Docs, in fact. I’m interested, but haven’t tried it out yet. The tipping point might be when I learn that more colleagues or classmates are using it. Or maybe I’ll get with the program and get some hands-on experience with it before classes start!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Collaboration, Social Networking, Web 2.0 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

