NCCU SLIS New Student Orientation

On Friday, the 19th, I attended new student orientation from 11 AM to 1 PM at the library school on NCCU’s campus. I didn’t find out about it until Wednesday, two days before, so I’m really glad my boss let me leave for a bit in the middle of the workday!

I was concerned about parking, so I left work early with an NCCU campus map in hand. I found the parking deck with hourly visitor parking, but the gate with the wooden arm was out of paper tickets, so it wasn’t functioning. A campus security officer was there, so I asked him for parking suggestions. (By now, it was 10:45, and I still had to find my way to the library for orientation!) He said I could park in the street-level lot right next door, because it was “open parking” while students continued to move in. I thrilled to find an empty parking space for free quickly, and starting hiking up the hill toward the Shepard Library.

Fortunately, I saw someone heading in my direction, and it turned out that Kourtney, also a new library school student, knew right where to go. We ran into some other classmates in the elevator, and arrived to a nearly-full room for the start of orientation. It was also the orientation for the distance ed students, since NCCU also offers an ALA-accredited online MLS program, so there was some extra technology going on in the front of the room for recording the live stream.

The orientation was led by Dr. Owens, Dean of the School of Library and Information Sciences. The SLIS faculty members introduced themselves, and then we broke up into pairs to interview each other and introduce each other to the room. Then, we learned about the student organizations, the joint MLS and MIS programs with the JD and MBA programs. The head of the Shepard Library, Dr. Theodosia Shields, told us about the main library’s resources, and Virginia Purefoy Jones, SLIS Librarian, filled us in on the SLIS Library. We also learned about the student abroad program in Denmark (two weeks in late May to mid-June), which I would LOVE to be able to do.

I really enjoyed learning about my classmates, who come from a variety of backgrounds and several countries. The woman sitting next to me works at Wake Forest University, where I worked before coming to Duke, so it was fun talking with her. The guy on the other side of me is out of the Army, where he was in the Infantry.

After orientation was over, Dr. Abdullahi (one of the SLIS professors) showed a group of us where to get our student IDs. It was a nice opportunity to walk around campus, since the Eagle Card (student ID) office is in the biology building. I was relieved to get this task out of the way. In an odd sort of way, getting my ID really made it feel official! (I know, I know, paying the bill should’ve done that!)

I enjoyed walking around campus for a few minutes after that, on a circuitous path back to my car. I’m starting to feel a little more comfortable about knowing my way around campus, which feels good.

Check out the pictures I took on the NCCU campus here.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Beginnings, Getting Ready, Library Science, MLS, Professional Development and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NCCU SLIS New Student Orientation

  1. Carla says:

    It was great to meet you Friday. I need to find where you parked; I parked near the student union. I still need to get my student ID. That will be fun and, like you said, make it more official. I’ll see you in class on Tuesday!

  2. Lesley says:

    It was great to meet you too, Carla! George asked me if I saw anyone I knew at Orientation, and I told him about you! 🙂

    I parked in the lot next to the Lawson St. deck. Someone on Facebook said they parked across from the student union. I wonder which lot is closer. Let’s talk!

    See you Tuesday night! Looking forward to class!

  3. Aww, you’re a newbie! Welcome to librarianship! You’re already heads above me when I started because you have a blog and some really good links. Have fun, get experience, and stay involved in the library blogging community.

    Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

