When Everything Old is New Again

Today, I introduced our second Fall ’11 cataloging intern to some of the ins and outs of the libraries on West Campus. Since the cataloging department at Duke for is in a remote site, still on campus but away from the library, I don’t get to West Campus very often any more, sometimes it’s only once a month. So, when I have a chance to take new interns on a tour of the West Campus libraries, it’s a treat for me, for sure. Although I spent several years working on West Campus, I never got tired of being there. Now I really enjoy our new-to-us facility, but returning for the West Campus library tour is fun! For starters, being with someone who’s seeing things on West Campus for the first time is fun. Being in the libraries with a library student adds to the enjoyment. But I think that my favorite part is randomly running into library colleagues who work in Perkins, Bostock, or the Divinity School Library, and introducing them to our interns. The spontaneity is fun and uplifting all around, I think! And I’ve been impressed by how encouraging the librarians at Duke have been to the interns. I work with some great people, and it’s nice to be reminded!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Beginnings, Librarians, Libraries, Library Science, MLS, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

