Where Were You on 9/11?

With all the talk leading up to today’s remembrance (anniversary seems too happy a word) of 9/11, I’ve been thinking lately about where I was when I heard about the horrific news that was unfolding in New York City, Washington, DC, and in Pennsylvania. I was at work, like many of us were, at the Professional Center Library at Wake Forest University. As I pulled it up on the Internet, news was spreading around the department and library, as well as the building. Soon, we started taking turns going to the auditorium upstairs to watch the news on the large screen. (I think that “taking turns” was our informal way of only being able to take bits of the devastation at a time on the huge screen. I can’t imagine what it was like to live through that.) I was sitting next to my boss, Mary Lou, when the North Tower collapsed. I don’t think either one of us said a word to each other when as we watched it happen. Speechless. Back in the department, it was a somber day. Several of us fielded unusual workday calls from family (including my mom), wanting to connect over the miles in the wake of the tragic events.

I’ve been reflecting on all that’s happened since then in my life, and there have been some pretty big milestones. Professionally I’ve moved to a different academic library, where I’ve held two positions I’ve enjoyed. Most recently, I’ve started library school (at last!). On a personal note, I’ve moved to a new city, met and been with George for the past 9 years, and have completed three half marathons and one full marathon.

There have been other, smaller things that have made the past decade interesting, too, like brief tours of duty in the Durham Chorale and a local Toastmasters club. I’ve also enjoyed getting plugged into Facebook and other social networking sites in recent years, where I’ve been able to reconnect with family and friends from my hometown, summer camp, colleges, and previous work experiences.

I have a feeling that the past 10 years have been different for the people who survived 9/11, as well as for the families of those who died. I continued to be moved by the stories of courage and sadness that have surfaced surrounding that day’s events.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Libraries and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where Were You on 9/11?

  1. I was working at Githens Middle School 9/11 happened. A teacher came into the media center and told the media center staff that a bomb exploded at the World Trade Center. I turned on the tv in the library and actually witnessed when the second plane hit the tower II. Very, very disturbing.

  2. I was working in the Respiratory centre of the hospital where I work in the library now, Nuneaton, Warkwickshire. The whole of the outpatients dept were watching the events on the TV there. We couldn’t believe what was going on. Awful.

Leave a Reply

