Professional Conferences (Thing 15, CPD23)

Attending and presenting at conferences, workshops, seminars, and other professional training is the topic of Thing 15 on the CPD23 blog.

The longer I’ve worked in libraries, the more I enjoy quality workshops and other training! I’ve enjoyed most of the content, but have especially enjoyed meeting new library staff and catching up with “old” colleagues. Although I’ve never been to an ALA conference, I attended a couple of North Carolina Library Association conferences during my tenure at Wake Forest University, and I’ve been to several Triangle Research Libraries Network meetings and workshops since I’ve been at Duke University. I’ve never been a presenter, though I’ve applied once to present at a LAUNC-CH conference (but didn’t make the cut). I’m sure I’ll try my hand at conference presenting later, perhaps after I have a few library school classes under my belt.

I’m looking forward to an upcoming workshop put on by the North Carolina Special Library Association called Library School 2.0. It’s a half day workshop in a nearby city, and it’s geared toward information that library schools don’t cover thoroughly (like hiring and budget planning), but that would be great to know on the job. The panel includes some librarians I know, but others I don’t, a nice mix! One of my library school classmates will be attending too, which will be nice! Getting to attend the workshop at a discounted student rate is icing on the cake.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in ALA, Professional Development, Skills, Social Networking, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

