Promoting Yourself (Thing 21, CPD23)

Thing 21 on the 23 Things for Professional Development blog is all about promoting yourself in job applications and interviews. My first thought, after reading the post, was that I am SO far away from that stage that I don’t really need to work on it yet. (Besides, I enjoy my current job!) On second thought, though, it’s never too early to think about that sort of thing, especially when you’re working on a professional degree. Really now, why am I spending the time and money on earning my MLS? To broaden my work horizons, right?

So, I took the advice of the blog poster, and started a folder in EverNote of things I like to do. The list so far includes both work things and hobbies that I enjoy. It’s a list in progress that is not ready for prime time viewing, but it’s a fun little project.

One of the things on my list prompted me to think about rejoining Toastmasters. I’m so busy with work and school that it seems slightly crazy to add something else, but still, I’m tempted. Locally, there are three Toastmasters chapters that I know of. One meets on my current class night, one meets on Thursday nights, and another one meets on Wednesday mornings at 7:00 AM. I’m actually thinking about the 7:00 AM club! I’d have to visit for a while, I think, to see if I could actually get out the door and to the meetings on a regular basis.

I’ve also logged into my Google Docs account this evening and updated my resume to include the fact that I’ve started working on my MLS, as well as my officer position for the school year in the NCCU ALA Student Chapter.

I hope that these small efforts now and along the way will pay off as graduation gets closer, about 3 years down the road!

 

 

Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Getting Ready, Library School, MLS, Skills, Time Management, Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

