How Steve Jobs Got Me to Go to Library School

Okay, maybe that’s a bit of a stretch, but let me explain.

I was introduced to my first Apple computer back in the late 80s, the Apple IIe. One of my professors in the University of North Carolina-Greensboro School of Education asked for volunteers to work through the rough draft of a user’s manual she’d written for the Apple IIe, a manual she’d geared for educators. I volunteered quickly, but came clean on being a total neophyte with computers, Apple or otherwise. “Perfect,” she said.

My first session in front of the Apple IIe was bumpy (to say the least!), since I couldn’t find the “On” button, but after that, I was curious about computers and eager to learn more. That same education professor, who often saw me working as a student assistant at the Jackson Library (UNC-G) Circulation Desk on numerous occasions, suggested that I consider going to library science school, should I ever decide to leave the teaching profession.

I’m not sure if the professor and I would’ve had that conversation if she’d only seen me at the Circulation Desk, a campus job like many students have. I think it was a combination of the library work AND the collaboration we had on the Apple IIe user’s manual that she’d written.  

After 14 years of working in libraries, I finally started library school at North Carolina Central this semester. While my full-time work in libraries and the librarians I’ve met along the way have had the biggest influence on my decision to attend library school, I tip my hat to Steve Jobs and his work at Apple. That initial Apple computer experience allowed for my first collaboration experience with a professor, who planted the idea of library science as a profession in my head and heart.

RIP Steve Jobs (1955-2011)

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Collaboration, Library School, Library Science, Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

