Kindle Books and Public Libraries

All Together Dead, by Charlaine Harris

Yesterday afternoon, I received an email from the Wake County Public Library that my reserved Kindle book was ready for checkout! Yay! Oh, wait, boo! This is a crazy busy time at school, so I don’t know if I’ll be able to finish All Together Dead before it disappears from my iTouch’s Kindle app after the 14-day loan period, but I’m thrilled to see how this new resource offered by the public library works.

I have yet to finish reading a book on my iTouch’s small screen, but the possibility is a fun one. I don’t own a normal-sized Kindle yet, but I’ve been intrigued by the latest improvements in Kindle technology and possibilities.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Fun, Reading, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kindle Books and Public Libraries

  1. Ginger Smith says:

    Hey this is cool! I didn’t know Wake County was loaning out Kindles. In fact Amazon just started allowing Libraries to loan books on it. I’m glad they finally came to and joined the rest of the ebook and library loaning community!

  2. Lesley says:

    I wish WCPL were loaning out Kindles, but it’s just Kindle BOOKS right now, probably a lot like Amazon Prime is doing. The nice thing about WCPL’s set-up is that I can read the books on my iTouch Kindle app. With Amazon Prime, it sounds like you have to be a Kindle OWNER. (There’s a catch at every corner! 😛 )

  3. EllaElla says:

    Checked it out, I was unaware of this service too. Unfortunately nothing I have on my “must read” list is available through them. Hopefully they will dramatically expand their selection.

Leave a Reply

