Almost Over

It’s hard to believe that my first semester is almost over! One more “normal” class meeting, then my last final on December 6! Two weeks from now, I’ll be done—with my first semester of library school! Mind you, I still have a long way to go, but getting through this first semester feels like it will be a nice accomplishment. From here on out, I’ll know the overall routine better, and that feels good.

So, I had my first final last Saturday. How did I do? Hard to tell. I walked into the exam feeling pretty good about what I knew, but I left the exam wishing I’d been able to choose more short answer questions (we had to choose 4 of 6 to write about) and omit some of those pesky true/false and multiple choice questions! Ah, well! It’s over! 🙂

Afterward, I ended up in the library with a few others from the class, and we knocked out most of tonight’s reference homework assignment. I was glad to have some company (and a little peer pressure) to head into the library for homework duty, rather than heading straight home to crash. I got all but one homework question done on Saturday, and I finished it last night. Whew.

Saturday afternoon, George and I went to Raleigh to watch the Carolina Rollergirls in action! It was something we’d never done before, so it was fun to do something new (especially after the final exam)! One of the reference librarians at work, Ciara, is a rollergirl with the team, so that’s how I found out about it. 🙂 If you’ve never been to a roller derby, I’d highly recommend going at least once!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Class, Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Almost Over

  1. How many classes did you take for your first semester?

  2. Lesley says:

    I’m taking two classes this semester, and one next semester. I’m on the pay-as-you-go plan right now, but my employer’s tuition reimbursement plan will kick in once I submit my grades for this semester, and that will help. I’m also looking for scholarships, and it sounds like you’ve made great progress on that front! I’d like to pick the pace back up next fall, would love to finish in 2014.

  3. Tamara Rhodes says:

    Hey Lesley, do you think I could get Ciara’s contact information? I started this new section on my blog called Rethink the word “Librarian” and as soon as you told me about her being a Librarian and a Rollergirl, I knew that would be perfect. I was thinking I’d email her some interview questions to post on my blog. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

