Library School + Life Tip #3: Update Your Resume

Yesterday, I pulled up a copy of my resume on the computer, and realized it was outdated. I had listed a couple of work-related committees that I’m no longer on, so I deleted those. That was a minor change, but I decided to edit a couple of other things while I had the document up. It felt like a minor accomplishment to bring my resume up to speed.

An up-to-date resume can be used in many situations, not just for job hunting. I submitted one with my library school application. I also had to submit one for a workshop I applied to attend. I updated my resume yesterday because I’m interested in doing some volunteer work next semester, and I wanted to make sure the document is ready. (I’m still working at my current library job, which I enjoy! I’m hoping to do some volunteering in addition to my work and school.)

Lesley’s List of Resume Tips:

  • Proofread, proofread, proofread! Employers are looking for “detail-oriented” employees. Don’t use that phrase on your resume, though; prove it instead.
  • Tailor your resume to fit the position description, highlighting how your experience fits the job requirements and preferences. It’s worth the extra work, plus it’s easier to edit or have multiple resumes on your computer, since many resumes are accepted electronically now anyway, eliminating the cost of printing.
  • Keep a copy of your current resume “in the cloud,” whether it’s on Google Docs, Dropbox, your email inbox, or something else like that. Computers crash, flash drives get lost. Make sure your current resume is available from anywhere.
  • Have someone proofread your resume, maybe even more than one person. Seek out people who will be honest with you now, and be prepared not to take the feedback personally. You can always take or leave the feedback, but be open to it.
  • Be honest. This is not the time to embellish. It could come back to bite you, in the interview or even on the job (if you get it). Just don’t go there. Need more experience or accomplishments? Go out and get it! (But that’s another blog post!)

 Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Getting Ready, Library School + Life Tips, Professional Development, Skills, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

