Waving the White Flag at NaNoWriMo 2011

Well, I’ve decided to call it a wrap on my efforts to “win” at NaNoWriMo 2011. NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month, which comes around every November, when writers worldwide strive to write a 50,000-word rough draft of a novel. Everyone who completes 50,000 words “wins” for that year. I wrote 50,000+ words in November 2009, and I really enjoyed the process. I haven’t looked at that rough draft since I completed it, but it’s saved in Google Docs. I’m glad I did it, and I’d love to do NaNoWriMo again sometime. Maybe next year, or maybe AFTER I’ve completed graduate school!

One of the things I’ve enjoyed about NaNoWriMo is the camaraderie, both on the NaNoWriMo message boards and at local write-ins. I’ve met some nice WriMos from all walks of life, both virtually and in person.

I did start a novel early this month, but I’ve been so busy, especially with grad school (in library science) and work, that my heart hasn’t been into it (and neither has my free time). I haven’t hit the 2,000-word mark yet. I could spend the next week writing like crazy, but I have one more final exam to study for, and that takes priority!

Maybe if I plan better for next year and create an outline ahead of time, I can pull NaNoWriMo off next November.

Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Authors, Books, Decisions, Skills, Time Management, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waving the White Flag at NaNoWriMo 2011

  1. Writing Jobs says:

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have a great blog here. Thanks again for sharing.

    Love commenting, blogging, or writing? We would love for you to join us!

    – Writers Wanted –

  2. I am doing the poetic equivalent, called November Poem-a-day and I am at least five day behind.

Leave a Reply

