Training for the Tobacco Road Half Marathon

Toni and Lesley During the 2011 Tobacco Road Half Marathon

I took advantage of a Black Friday discount to sign up for the Tobacco Road Half Marathon on March 18, 2012. I missed running the City of Oaks Half Marathon earlier this month, so I’m excited about having another shot at running or walking another half marathon. I did the Tobacco Road Half Marathon earlier this year, so I want to beat my 2011 time!

Since I’m only taking one library school class next semester, so I think I’ll be able to devote more time to training. The fact that I’ve already put down money for this race will be an added incentive! I’m hoping it’ll help me with the diet, too, as I work on getting back into shape.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Training for the Tobacco Road Half Marathon

  1. W. R. Woolf says:

    Have a nice run! 🙂

  2. Running in Mommyland says:

    I missed the City of Oaks too, and have signed up for the Tobacco Road full. I’ve heard it’s a really great race!

    • Lesley says:

      You can do this! It’s a great local race, with lots of support. It’s great to be able to sleep in your own bed the night before a big race.

      Last year, there was a snaffu with the transportation system from remote parking to the course, but we got there early and didn’t have a problem. (I did purchase the parking pass for the 2012 race.)

      Have you run on the American Tobacco Trail yet? It’s one of my favorite places to run/walk! The Tobacco Road Marathon/Half Marathon course is so pretty!

  3. Samantha E. says:

    You’ll do great, Lesley! I hope to see you there for the half.

Leave a Reply

