California, Here I Come!

Exciting news! I found out recently that I’ll be heading to the American Library Association‘s Annual Conference in Anaheim, California, next June as part of the ALA Student to Staff Program! To be eligible, you have to be a member of the ALA, of course, as well as a current library student and member of the ALA student chapter. My chapter at NCCU SLIS usually sends the Chapter President, but since the President and Vice President of our chapter are both attending the Annual Conference through their scholarships (yay for them!), I was fortunate to be next on the list, as Secretary/Treasurer, if I wanted the opportunity. There was one more factor involved, though. There are only 40 volunteer slots, but more than 40 student chapters, so my name had to be submitted in time to get one of the available slots. On Monday, I learned that I got into the program, AND I get my final grade of the semester (another A), so it was a great way to start the week! 🙂

As part of the Student to Staff Program, I’ll have to volunteer a total of 20 hour during the convention, which will be a great experience! I’ll also be paired with another library school student to share a hotel room. In exchange for volunteering as part of this program, ALA will absorb registration costs, and pay for the hotel AND give us an additional $50/day per diem!

I’ve never been to southern California (other than a layover at LAX), so that’ll be a new experience too! I’m hoping to schedule in some time at Disneyland as well. (I just wish that George could go to Disneyland with me!)

Getting this wonderful opportunity reminds me of the importance of getting involved in student groups, and being willing to take on leadership roles. It can be a lot of work at times, but it will pay off!

Image from http://www.disneypicture.net/

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in ALA, Fun, Networking, Professional Development and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to California, Here I Come!

  1. That’s fantastic. Congrats!

  2. Jenny says:

    That is so great, Lesley! I can’t wait to hear about your experience–I know you’ll make the most of it. 🙂

  3. LibGirl09 says:

    Congratulations! That’s awesome! I’m looking forward to hearing about everything you learn/experience there.

Leave a Reply

