Back at Work

I returned to work today after nearly two relaxing weeks off. Since I enjoy my work, the hardest part was missing my post-lunch nap. 🙂 It was good to see people and hear about Christmas and New Year’s (except for those who caught the stomach bug going around Durham!).

It dawned on me today that I’m actually going to ALA Annual in Anaheim THIS YEAR! Okay, it’s still 6 months away, but there’s plenty to plan, read, and save for. One thing I did today was add some divisions and sections to my ALA membership. One of the divisions I added was the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (also known as ALCTS, which sounds like “Alex” with the emphasis on the second syllable), and within ALCTS I joined the Cataloging and Metadata Management Section (since I work in Cataloging and Metadata Services already).

I also added the Library Information and Technology Association  (also known as LITA) to my ALA membership. I’m really interested in how patrons/users interact with technology to access library resources, and I’ve love to learn more! Since I’m in library school, I also added the Library Research Round Table (LRRT).

Within the next week or so, I plan to fill out the survey for the ALA Student to Staff Program, and my responses will help place me in the volunteer hours I’m required to perform during the Annual Conference. Taking a look at the divisions, sections, and round tables today will help me on that survey, I’m sure.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in ALA, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back at Work

  1. Teresa says:

    That’s exciting about going to the ALA meeting in Anaheim! I haven’t yet joined ALA yet, but I probably should being a student and all. 🙂 I’m actually interested in those same divisions you added.

  2. Lesley says:

    You should definitely join ALA! And the student rate is a great deal!

Leave a Reply

