Five on Friday: 5 Books I’m Reading

One of the things I like about the Goodreads website, is that it helps me keep track of books I’m currently reading. I usually keep several books going at one time, depending on my mood. So, in this first post of the “Five on Friday” series, here are five books I’m reading right now:

1) Harry Truman’s Excellent Adventure: The True Story of a Great American Road Trip, by Mathew Algeo

I’m reading this book via the Kindle app on my iPad, and I’m enjoying the book so far. I like the idea of road trips, and I’m enjoying learing more about Harry and Bess Truman through their post-White House travels.

2) Sentenced to Death (A Booktown Mystery #5), by Lorna Barrett

This book falls into the “cozy mystery” genre, and I do enjoy mysteries a lot, by and large. The protagonist in this book/series, Tricia Miles, owns a mystery bookstore called Haven’t Got a Clue in the fictional town of Stoneham, New Hampshire. It’s a breezy read, but I’m not sucked in to the storyline yet. I’ll probably get hooked in over the weekend, though!

3) You are What You Eat: The Plan That Will Change Your Life, by Gillian McKeith

This book has a lot of good tips about eating differently and well. While some of the tips seem a little far fetched,  there are plenty of good ideas so far. My biggest complaint is the design of the book, which has a fair number of pages with different colored text on different colored backgrounds. Sometimes it’s a little hard to read. But the information’s good enough to work through that.

4) Organic, Inc.: Natural Foods and How They Grew, by Samuel Formartz

I’m enjoying learning more about the organic food industry in this book. What’s intrigued me most so far is how organic food has become a pretty big, competitive industry in some respects.

5) Walter Kempner and the Rice Diet: Challenging Conventional Wisdom, by Barbara Newborg

Since I did the Rice Diet at the Durham campus for a number of months, I heard quite a bit about Dr. Walter Kempner, who was a Durham icon in his day. I’m enjoying learning more about him, though I’ve skimmed some parts of his early life. I’m looking forward to the sections about his life in Durham.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Books, Five on Friday, Social Networking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five on Friday: 5 Books I’m Reading

  1. A rice diet? I think I would love that.

  2. Lesley says:

    I bet you would! The initial Rice Diet were strickly rice and fruit, but the modern version includes a wider variety of low-fat, low-sodium carbs, in addition to vegetables. It’s basically a vegan diet. I had good success with the program, while I stuck to it, but have picked old (bad) eating habits back up. I’ve decided to pick the vegan diet back up, starting next week, with the Engine 2 28-Day Challenge that Whole Foods starts on Monday.

    • Awesome Lesley,

      I am contemplating putting myself on a better eating regime. It’s so easy to pick-up bad eating habits when you are very busy. I think I am going to start substituting french fries for carrots. Hmm…but I’ll have to check out the Rice Diet book. Thanks for the share. Good luck with school.

      • Lesley says:

        Carrots have become a favorite snack food of mine since school started! Yum! Love ’em in hummus.

        Best books for the Rice Diet are The Rice Diet Solution, The Rice Diet Cookbook (lots of recipes), or The Rice Diet Renewal (came out in August 2010), where my success story on the Rice Diet appears on pages 12-13 (seriously!).

Leave a Reply

