Running with Library Friends

Run for the Oaks 5K

Lesley, Nancy, and Karen before the Run for the Oaks 5K

I ran/walked the Run for the Oaks 5K in Raleigh yesterday. My favorite thing about it was joining a couple of friends/colleagues to run as part of a team in the corporate cup competition. Karen works in IT at the same library I do, supporting our integrated library system (Aleph), and Nancy works for the development office at the same university (which is how we were able to sign up as a team together), but I met Nancy through library school at North Carolina Central.

It turns out that there were only two teams signed up in the open women’s division, so Nancy, Karen, and I got the 2nd place plaque. Still, it was fun to come together and run our own races, but as a team.

Karen and Lesley with the 2nd place plaque

Both Nancy and Karen did personal bests, which is even better than the plaque! Me, I came in dead last, but now I’ve got a time to beat! I started the Couch-to-5K program a week ago, and the 5K usually doesn’t happen until the END of 9 weeks, not at the end of Week 1!  I knew I could finish, though, and was glad to cross the finish line. It turns out that they’d already turned off the finish line clock by the time I crossed the finish, but I showed the timing director the time off of my Garmin Forerunner and my bib number. He took that as official time (thanks, Jim), and our team got the second place plaque! Yay, team!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Running with Library Friends

  1. Awesome. So where will you put your plaque?

  2. Lesley says:

    They only gave us one plaque to share between the three of us! (Can you believe that?! *smile*) We’ll be passing it around for now.

  3. That’s fabulous Lesley! Congrats!!! I’m a walker myself and only run when chased but good for you for getting it done. 🙂 Go NCCU alum

Leave a Reply

