Five on Friday: iPad/iPhone Apps I Like (Part 1)

I’ve had some intense yet fun exposure to Apple products since Christmas, first with a 64GB iPad 2 (data plan added), then with an iPhone 4s, and most recently with a 16GB iPad 2 for work use! Needless to say, I’m on the warpath for fun, cool, and helpful apps, for home, work, school, and fun!

Below are 5 apps that have been especially useful to me in the past three months. They’re all carryovers from my older iTouch!

1)  Facebook: Yes, I’m hooked on Facebook, and now I’m hooked and mobile! With the iPhone and iPad, I can take photos and upload them directly to Facebook, tags and all!

2) Email: These Apple products come with an email app, and I’ve learned how to add almost all of my email accounts, even work. It’s great to be able to check wherever I am, including the West Campus bus stop.

3) Speaking of work, the DukeMobile app is pretty cool! The library catalog is searchable, on it, and I can get lots of Duke news in the palm of my hand. I can also check my DukeCard account on it.

4) I use Goodreads to track the books I’ve read and want to read, so I’m happy to have an app for the iPad and iPhone! I especially like it when I’m in a bookstore, trying to decide what to buy.

5) Amazon’s Kindle app is a treat! (I also have the Kindle app on my laptop at home.) While I still love the feel and smell of books, I’ve discovered that I really having titles to read on the Kindle app, especially on my iPad. (The iPhone’s screen is much smaller, of course, but will do in a pinch.) It’s neat how the Kindle app syncs with different devices, and will move forward to the right spot if I stop reading a book on one device and later start reading on another.

This list is just the tip of the iceberg. Stay tuned for more! Meanwhile, I’ve love to hear about your favorite apps!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five on Friday: iPad/iPhone Apps I Like (Part 1)

  1. I’m a big fan of the Good Reads app. One of the librarians at AACPL suggested using it as a reference for reader’s advisory.

Leave a Reply

