My First NCLA Networking Mixer

Last night I attended my first North Carolina Library Association mixer, a Happy Hour event at the Trali Irish Pub in Raleigh. I met several new-to-me people, and caught up a couple of librarians I’ve met in other ways, so it was a lot of fun! I was amazed by how quickly we made connections, either through library school or common people we knew. It was a real-live version of Facebook, surprising but not really, considering we share the same profession in the same state. Still, it was a really good time!

It was my first time to Trali, surprising since it’s about 5 minutes from my home, and I love it! There were several things on the menu that looked good, and I enjoyed my grilled cheese with tomato with a side salad. Not very Irish (except for the green color of the salad!), but yummy and light, since I had to go to the gym after I left.

Before I left, I gave my business card to the people sitting around me, and was a little surprised that I was only one on that half of the table who had a business card on hand. One librarian commented that she should have business cards made up, which brought out a good discussion on how to get business cards made. Someone pointed out that it can be done using a Microsoft Word template (who knew?!), and I threw out the idea of VistaPrint, which does free business cards, and well as “premium” cards for a fee.

I’m already looking forward to attending future NCLA mixers! If your state library association offers something similar, I’d highly recommend getting involved!

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in NCLA, Networking, Professional Development and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

