Five on Friday: Five More iPad/iPhone Apps I Enjoy

1) WordPress: I write this blog using WordPress, so I like being able to check stats and posts on the app. I haven’t written a post using this app, but the capability is there. I look forward to trying that out at the American Library Association’s Annual Conference in Anaheim this June.

2) Dropbox: Dropbox is a free file-storage and file-sharing app that I have on both work and home computers, as well as my iPad and the iPhone. It’s come in so handy for work, school, and personal documents! I like that my docs stay in their original format, and that they’re so much easier to share with colleagues. Take this tour to learn more.

3) Couch-to-5K: I use Active.com’s Couch-to-5K app on my iPhone when I run/walk, and this app has really helped me keep going! I like being able to listen to my own music, and you can choose between three different voices to cue you when to run and when to walk. You can also set it to record your route via GPS, but I use my Garmin Forerunner when running outside, so I don’t need to use the app’s GPS function (which saves the battery).

4) Evernote: Evernote, like Dropbox, is on my work and home computers, as well as both iPhone and iPad! I use it to take class notes for my grad school classes, as well as for collecting project and research notes. I also use it to collect yummy-looking recipes from library books, websites, and other places. Like Dropbox, I can access my Evernote online if I’m at another computer. (In fact, I’ve been keeping notes from this semester’s Reference Desk shadowing shift on Evernote online, and those notes show up on my computers and Apple devices too.)

5) MyFitnessPal: I use several health/fitness websites for various things, and MyFitnessPal is one of my favorites. When I’m inspired to track my food intake (which isn’t often enough), MFP has the best food/drink database out there, in my opinion. The app for the iPad and iPhone are very good, too.

About Lesley Looper

I'm a full-time library employee. I enjoy reading, photography, travel, blogging, and geocaching.
This entry was posted in ALA, Skills, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

